San Antonio Symphony Halloween Spooktacular ~ Ticket Giveaway

As part of their  Halloween Spooktacular, the San Antonio Symphony presents THE COMPOSER IS DEAD by Nathaniel Stookey with text by Lemony Snicket.

THE COMPOSER IS DEAD is a riotous collaboration between composer Nathaniel Stookey and children’s author Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler) that combines two elements of great story-telling: music and suspense. In a special Halloween-themed concert, San Antonio Symphony Associate Conductor Akiko Fujimoto will lead the orchestra in a gripping murder mystery where every member of the orchestra is a suspect. 

the composer is dead

Originally created as an orchestral work, The Composer Is Dead was released as a book in 2009. The mystery gets underway at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, October 27 at Alamo Heights High School Auditorium with Pre-Concert Activities for Kids beginning at 1:30 p.m.


“I’m so glad the Symphony has brought this family concert back. I’m so passionate about introducing classical music to children and this is one my favorite family concerts this fall," said Akiko Fujimoto, San Antonio Symphony’s Associate Conductor.

Family concerts are designed for children ages 4-11, but can be enjoyed by people of all ages and are a lively and informative approach to concert-going, with a variety of hands-on activities during the hour before the concert begins. These activities include:

  • Instrument Petting Zoo, an opportunity to experiment with and play orchestral instruments, hands-on musical arts and crafts stations.
  • Visit from Count Bassie, the Symphony's beloved mascot. 
  • Halloween costume contest encouraging children to dress as their favorite composer for a prize.

Other 2013-2014 Family Concert series performances include:


Individual concert tickets for the San Antonio Symphony Halloween Spooktacular range from $8 for children, $16 for adults and are available at the Symphony Box Office or by calling 210.554.1010 or visiting Patrons can also visit any Ticketmaster location, or call 210.224.9600 for concert tickets. Tickets can also be purchased at the venue on concert day. A family pass (a $144 value for a family of four) is available for $99 for all three 2013-2014 Family Concert series performances. 

The Giveaway

Thanks to SA Symphony, Que Means What readers have a chance to win a FAMILY FOUR PACK to the October, 27th 2:30 performance of THE COMPOSER IS DEAD. You will want to take the kids early, though to get to participate in the pre-concert activities. Enter below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Source: San Antonio Symphony